One thought on “The Groundhog Day Movie (justice vs. mercy)

  1. Hi, James –

    I just wanted to drop a line and tell you how much I enjoyed your Ground Hog Day [Justice vs. Mercy] article. Very well written and thought provoking.

    It is funny that you mention this movie as it had a profound effect on my life as well. I too had watched it the first few times and saw only comedy and then later in life found myself watching with a totally different frame of mind. It truly was life changing when I realized that a “bunch of one day’s” make up a lifetime. I went out and started taking piano lessons the next day, got my basic keelboat certification, received 7 hours towards my pilots license, started enjoying photography and began oil painting again. I realized it is not too late to start (one day at a time) to become an expert or try something new.

    [An aside: a friend of mine got married a couple of years after my “life changing” experience on an island in the Caribbean. I was looking through one of the attendee’s pictures she had of the wedding. She is from China and not very familiar with American movies. I looked twice at one of the photos of a man that had her in his arms about to throw her in the pool. It was Bill Murray. I said, “Li, why is Bill Murray here in this picture throwing you in the pool?!” She laughed and told me that she had sat next to him at the rehearsal dinner and he was friends with the groom. About halfway through dinner, she said to him, “You know, you look like that actor… what is his name? You know… that famous actor. Oh, I know, Bill Murray, you look like Bill Murray.” He looked at her without cracking a smile and said, “Really? I never got that one before.” She never knew until the next day that it was him. That really made me smile so I thought I would share the smile with you.]

    Thanks again for the article. I enjoyed it very much!

    Mariann Siegert Levin
    Houston

Leave a Reply

