Preventive Planning and Jazz Guitar

Bear with me. There is a connection in this blog post between my reference to preventive planning and jazz guitar. I use the term “preventive planning” in reference generally to estate and asset-protection planning.

The top 1-percent. A roster of high net-worth clients is a badge of honor among estate and asset-protection planning lawyers. A plume signifying success, financial reward, larger law firm profits, etc. The work is high-end, interesting, technically challenging, and typically underpins the ever-increasing hourly lawyer rates for this market segment. I am fortunate to have a small share of these top 1-percent clients. But, I also have many clients in my own group.  That is, the other 99-percent of us.

A focus narrowly only on the top 1-percent fails to address how important it is for our remaining 99% group to address preventive planning. Most current marketing efforts (and the bulk of related articles, commentaries) for estate planning and asset-protection continue to address options for the top 1-percent group. I find few discussions of what we (and our families) — in the bottom 99-percent — ideally need for excellent, cost-effective preventive planning.

The probable absence of estate tax liability for most of us in this 99-percent group also helps push this preventive planning to an even lower place on our “to-do” list. No pressure. No rush. Do it later.

This next point is for our 99-percent group.

One of my high-priority, personal goals is to prevent me and my family from wasting valuable time due to problems caused by lack of planning, outdated, flawed or missing documents, failure of estate planning, absence of asset-protection, etc. Coupled with this threat of lost time, I prefer my family not expend their financial resources on lawyer fees to clean up an oversight or mess I might leave for my wife and kids.

Now, why jazz guitar? I have played guitar since college and presently take improvisational jazz guitar lessons. I am committed to squeezing in 45 minutes of evening practice each day, as though it also is a job. I guard this 45-minute time-slot zealously.

I would be extremely perturbed if issues were to arise from a lack of planning, etc., that steal away my (and my family’s) valuable time. But, I have my preventive planning in place. And it gives me great comfort knowing my family and I will not lose time in dealing with problems, etc. We also will likely not incur substantial lawyer fees to fend off and resolve future problems.

But, bottom line for this post, I am far more concerned about wasted time than money (for fees, etc.). One can always make more money. But, can never get back lost time.

 

Leave a Reply

